top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureykmaple

Searching for A Collection of Children’s Books to Open the Door to Cultural Diversity

Now I live in the U. S., but I’m originally from Japan. I grew up in a suburban area with rich greenery in West Tokyo. Due to my upbringing, I hadn’t met many people from other countries until I attended university to study English literature.


I had not even known that Japan was a homogeneous society until I went to study in Australia. Of course, like in other countries, some urban areas are more multicultural. Though, in most areas we don’t have enough opportunities to experience different cultures and interact with people from other countries.


Dr. Maria Montessori said children under the age of 6 have an absorbent mind. They absorb everything around them as normal. From my experiences, I have learned how important it is to have a chance to experience different cultures for children.


It is not possible for all of us to travel, but I have learned through the power of books that travel is not the only way to experience the culture.


I wrote my first children's book, Yuki in the Snow, to introduce children in the U.S., and hopefully other countries, to Japanese culture and customs. In addition, I’d like children in Japan to experience diversity. So while I am here in the U.S., I’m searching for a collection of nice and beautiful American children’s books to open the door to cultural diversity for Japanese children.


This blog is my notes about the books that I’d like to introduce to kids in Japan.


These are the books I borrowed from the library near my house. Can’t wait to read them!


1. Islandborn by Junot Díaz


2. Hair, it's a family affair! by Mylo Freeman


3. Kamala and Maya's Big Idea by Meena Harris


4. Just Like a Mama by Alice Faye Duncan


5. Here Comes Ocean by Meg Fleming


6. The Proudest Blue : a story of hijab and family by Ibtihaj Muhammad


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page